Gregg Hanson Receives 2022 MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland

May 16, 2022 by matray

The Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association awarded Gregg L. Hanson the 2022 Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland at its annual conference last week in Salt Lake City. Hanson is being honored for his outstanding contributions and longtime dedication to the MPL insurance community, the MPL Association and healthcare  professionals.

Hanson served as the chief executive officer and president of Coverys from January 2012 until April 2021, where he was responsible for the strategic leadership of the organization, expanding its presence nationwide and establishing an international footprint.

He started his career at Coverys as vice president of underwriting in 2000. He was promoted to senior vice president of underwriting in 2006 and also assumed management responsibility of the Marketing, Risk Management and Healthcare Provider Education departments. Hanson was named the company’s chief operating officer in 2009 and added oversight of the Claims, Human Resources, and IT departments to his responsibilities.

Hanson previously served as senior vice president of southern operations and underwriting for ProNational Insurance Co. Other past positions included numerous executive roles with the St. Paul Insurance Co., encompassing underwriting, marketing and operational management throughout the Midwest and Florida.

Over the years, Hanson has served in various leadership roles within the MPL Association, including as a member of the Board of Directors, the MPL Association PAC Committee, Nominating Committee and Strategic Planning Committee as well as Section Chair of the CEO/COO Meeting.

“Gregg has made a significant positive impact on the Association and the industry as whole,” said James Q. Swift, MD, chair of the MPL Association Board of Directors and director and chair of OMSNIC. “We are extremely appreciative of his service. In particular, his innovative, thoughtful input on our recent strategic planning efforts will serve the Association for years to come. We are pleased to honor him with this well-deserved award.”

“Throughout his career, Gregg demonstrated great dedication to the MPL industry with his work at Coverys and his service to the Association,” said Brian K. Atchinson, president and CEO of the MPL Association. “He has long been a tireless champion of professional development for all those with whom he worked and consistently promoted the importance and value of MPL companies and all those whom they insure.”

The MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland, established in 1993 by the MPL Association’s Board of Directors, was created in honor of the late Peter Sweetland, one of the Association’s chief architects and most fervent supporters. The award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service to the industry and to the MPL Association, and who epitomizes the high ideals and ethics for which Peter Sweetland stood.

Posted in MPL company news | Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *