Gloria Everett to Receive 2019 MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland

April 25, 2019 by matray

The Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association will recognize Gloria Everett, president and CEO of The Mutual, as the recipient of the 2019 Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland. The award will be presented on Thursday, May 16, at the 2019 MPL Association Conference in Portland, Ore. Everett is being honored for her singular contributions and longtime dedication to the MPL insurance community, the MPL Association and healthcare professionals. The MPL Association is the international organization representing the medical professional liability insurance community.

Everett, president and CEO of The Mutual, is an insurance executive who has spent more than 30 years representing the interests of the medical professional liability community through her leadership in the industry. She attended her first MPL Association (formerly, PIAA) meeting in 1987, where she had the honor and privilege of meeting Peter Sweetland. For decades she has championed the heart and soul of the industry to advocate, educate and defend physicians and the healthcare team to improve access to quality healthcare across the country.

In 2017 Everett completed a nine-year term on the MPL Association Board of Directors, as a member and also as its first chairwoman. She served on the CEO & COO Section, Leadership Camp Section and the Strategic Planning Committees.

As the president and CEO of The Mutual for the past 17 years, she has also served on numerous boards, including Insurance Industry Charitable Foundation; National Risk Retention Association; and the University of California, Berkeley Equity & Inclusion Advisory Board. Everett currently serves on the Pacific University Board of Trustees.

“Gloria Everett is a tenacious pathfinder. She was the first woman chair of the then PIAA, she initiated a Board Assessment which masterfully guided the association to expanding its value proposition across the industry, she brought consensus about our future while still honoring the history of our mission. Her seminal work laid the platform for long-term success of the now MPL Association,” said Mary-Lou Misrahy, ARM, chair of the MPL Association, and president and CEO of Physicians Insurance A Mutual Company. “Her work in support of physicians, other healthcare professionals and the MPL community has been exceptional. We are honored to present her with our highest award and thank her for her dedication and commitment.”

“We are extremely pleased to honor Gloria for her extraordinary dedication and commitment to the physician community and this Association,” said Brian K. Atchinson, president and CEO of the MPL Association. “We commend Gloria for her remarkable commitment of time and energy for many years in support of this organization and its members.”

The MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland, established in 1993 by MPL Association’s Board of Directors, was created in honor of the late Peter Sweetland, one of the MPL Association’s (then, PIAA) chief architects and most fervent supporters. The award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service to the industry and to the MPL Association, and who epitomizes the high ideals and ethics for which Peter Sweetland stood.

Posted in MPL company news | Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *