The MPL Association Elects Two New Directors at 2019 Annual Conference

May 22, 2019 by matray

The Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association, the association representing the medical professional liability insurance community, has announced the election of J. Michael Conerly, MD, LAMMICO, and Gregg L. Hanson, Coverys, to serve three-year terms on the Association’s Board of Directors. The election occurred on May 17, during the Association’s Annual Meeting of Members at the 2019 MPL Association Conference in Portland, Ore.

J. Michael Conerly, MD, is president and chief executive officer of LAMMICO. Conerly is a long-standing member of LAMMICO’s leadership, having served as a member of the Underwriting, Marketing, Joint Risk Assessment, Governance and Audit Committees during the past 22 years. He was elected as chairman of the Board of Directors in 2011 after serving on the Board since 1999. Conerly participated in the MPL Association’s Fellows Leadership Program and served on the Activities Committee and International Section.

Conerly practiced surgery in Alexandria, La., from 1990 to 2018. He was a founding member of Mid-Louisiana Surgical Specialists in 2003, where he was a surgeon and president until 2018. Conerly is certified by the American Board of Surgery and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

Gregg L. Hanson is the chief executive officer and president of Coverys, a position he has held since January 2012. Since joining the company in 2000, Hanson has also served as the company’s chief operating officer, senior vice president of underwriting, and vice president of underwriting. Hanson is currently the chair of the Association’s CEO/COO Section and on the Board of the Political Action Committee, and has participated on the Nominating Committee.

Hanson began his career with the St. Paul Insurance Companies. He is a graduate of the University of North Dakota where he received a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration. He is a member of the American Society of Healthcare Risk Management and the Professional Liability Underwriting Society.

“The MPL Association will be well served by the experience and knowledge of these two leaders,” said MPL Association president and CEO Brian K. Atchinson. “We look forward to working with them both to advance the mission of the organization and its members.”

The MPL Association Board of Directors re-appointed Mary-Lou Misrahy, president and chief executive officer, Physicians Insurance a Mutual Company, to serve as its chair. In addition, James Q. Swift, DDS, chairman, OMS National Insurance Company, was re-appointed as vice chair and John H. Mize, president and CEO, SVMIC, was re-appointed as secretary.

Posted in Appointments and Promotions, Coverys, LAMMICO, Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association | Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *